locked
Does remote desktop cause the other desktop to log out? RRS feed

  • Question

  • If I log into my work machine from home, will other people at work be able to see what I am doing on that machine? I want this feature so if it isn't on please let me know how I can enable it? 
    Saturday, February 21, 2009 7:03 PM

Answers

  • Hi,

    No, people will not see what you are doing. The following happens when I try with XP / Vista / Windows 7:

    1. If there is a logged on user a message is displayed saying that "username" (whoever you are) wants to connect to the machine. The user has 30 seconds to either hit allow or deny.

    2. If the user hits allow, or 30 seconds lapses (as will most likely happen when you connect to your machine at work) the user is logged out and the screen is blacked out (totally black - no message or anything). On some systems the num lock key is activated when they are logged into (go figure).

    3. If a user on the remote system hits ctrl+alt+del then you will be automatically logged out from your session

    Hope this helps,

    Oren
    Sunday, February 22, 2009 1:55 PM