Using C# Programatically paste from the clip board into a Word document RRS feed

• Question

• Can anyone tell me how to Programatically paste the clipboard contents to a word document using C#?? 

I am very new to programming (2 months). I am using Visual Studio.NET and C#. I have made an Add-In for Word. One of the controls in my Add-In Programatically copies a textbox (richTextBox1) contents to the Clipboard. I used the following code:

Clipboard.SetText(richTextBox1.Text);

Then if I right click and select Paste the contents are pasted onto the Word document.

However,  I would like to Programatically paste the clipboard contents to the word document? Can anyone tell me how to Programatically paste the clipboard contents to a word document using C#?? 

( P.S. I searched. However there is no Clipboard.paste method. I did find an Interface in the Object
    Browser at  Microsoft.Office.Interop.Word named "Selection" which has a method named "void Paste()". However when I derived a class from it and then instantiated the class I still did not have access to the "Paste()" method).

• Moved by jack 321 Monday, June 9, 2008 4:32 AM off topic for C# general
    Wednesday, June 4, 2008 10:02 PM

Answers

All replies

• As I discuss on my blog entitled, Tribal Knowledge: Working with Office Interops, one way to divine the inner workings of any office document and how to manage it via the interops is to record a macro of the process needed. Once done examine the vba code, it will show settings changes and other items of interest that can lead the way through the tribal knowledge of the interops. Most the object calls are the same under the covers...good luck.

Otherwise this question won't get much action in the C# group...try posting it in the Discussions in Office Development or for a better responses or Discussions in Automation forum for interop questions.

William Wegerson www.OmegaCoder.Com
    Thursday, June 5, 2008 10:39 AM