locked
What does this backup message mean? RRS feed

  • Question

  • I tried deleting a backup from WHS and got the message

    "The backup was not comletely deleted, but it was removed from the list of backups. To completely delete the backup, connect the server backup hard drive to a home computer and manually delete the backup folder".

    Does this mean it's safe to just manually delete the folder? What if later backups point to files there?
    Saturday, March 21, 2009 7:48 PM

Answers

  • Yes, it's safe to delete the folder. Windows Home Server uses hard links in the server backup; these are basically pointers to a single file record, along with a counter of the number of times a file is referenced. Only when the counter drops to 0 (indicating that there are no references to the file any more) will the file itself be deleted.

    I'm not on the WHS team, I just post a lot. :)
    Saturday, March 21, 2009 8:09 PM
    Moderator