2 part ? about "Track in Crm" and Activities RRS feed

• Question

• First thanks to the guys that helped me with my other posts!

Again, I'm new to all this. Here is my second question.

I'm using crm 3.0 pro. have user using the outlook client. When they use "track in Crm" for an email. The email goes to the "All Activities" under workplace where they then open the email and either "assign" it to another user OR they can use "regarding" and tie it to an account or lead history.

My question is, when the emails that are selected by my users to "track in crm" can they be sent to the users "My Activites" instead of "All Activities" ???

second part is. Why doesn't the "All Activites" page remove the now "old" activity once it has been "assigned" or "regarding" to another user, lead, account..etc. Or must I always go in and delete them from "all activites" ?

I would say my users will use that feature the most, next to attaching things to accounts, leads..etc

Thanks for any help or intel on this.

Once again, I'm a complete newbie to crm
    Thursday, February 7, 2008 5:17 PM

Answers

•  

You need to understand the purpose of the two view. All Activities shows literally all activities whether they are completed or not and regardless of who owns the activity. Activities covers records such as tasks, appointments as well and not just e-mails.

My activities only shows those activities that are still open and owned by the user that is logged on.

You definitely do not want to delete the items from All activities as you will be deleting the history for your contacts and accounts.

When you click on Track in CRM in the outlook e-mail, the e-mail activity appears against the record in CRM (in brief: CRM matches the e-mail with a record whose e-mail address matches those in the e-mail) as a closed activity. Because the e-mail is now a closed activity it also happens to show in All Activities.