Publishing a Master Project RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

2007 SP2 Feb Cu. I have a master project with 11 sub projects and a about 100 lines of "Program" tasks. When I publish the Master, all subprojects show in Project Center views and in OLAP cubes, however the Master does not. I cannot see the name of the Master itself and therefore cannot report on the 100 or so program tasks. All I see is the subprojects. Is there a publishing option I'm missing?

Other interesting notables: The first time I tried to publish the master, I noticed the status bar at the bottom of Project Pro restarted during the save process, and then never gave status on the published progress. I checked Project Center, and there were all the subs (they weren't there before). So, I know it published, but checked the queue after not seeing the master itself and saw 3 errors. First was the error for saving the Master at 4%, the same % I saw it restart in Pro. Second is a error for Publish Notification for the Master. Third was an error for the publish. All three errors were in a Cancelled status (not blocking). Now when I try to republish, I see the Successful jobs for publishing the subs, but no job for publishing the Master, and still no publish status in Pro. Since there is no option to retry or cancel the failed Master publish job in the queue and the job no longer shows up when I try to republish, I'm lost.

Any thoughts?

Thanks

Monday, July 19, 2010 4:46 PM

Answers

• Hello,

Actually speaking most of the cases master project doesn't hold any data. To isolate and resolve, create new one.

Add the project one by one in the new master project and publish respectively, so you can identify the culprit.

Cheers. Happy troubleshooting !!! Sriram E - MSFT Enterprise Project Management
    • Marked as answer by Sriram E Wednesday, July 21, 2010 8:31 PM
    Tuesday, July 20, 2010 6:56 PM