Restoring a backup into Money RRS feed

• Question

• Hi

I can't be the only one driven nuts by this. We have been making backups everytime our money has been done and backed them up to a removeable drive.

Windows has crashed on my laptop so I installed Microsoft Money (updated for 2005 on sticker on the box) again. It's the same CD we have been using for years, I am not even trying to import a backup from another version.

Every time without fail when I try and restore our .mbf file, it says it's not recognised. I know there is an update option via tools and I have run that with no luck or help.

What file extention does microsoft money need to restore an old backup, .mbf or .mny? When I do a restore, what file does it want? Do I need a .mny file to do a restore, or should a .mbf file work? The instructions you are asked to do when clicking on restore are so confusing, and I work in IT tech help, if I don't get it, lord knows who does.

This has driven me mad with frustration today, please help ! This is a totally inflexible piece of software that seems determined to make things very difficult for anyone that uses it.

Thank you for any help.

Monday, November 8, 2010 5:18 PM

Answers

• All you need is kkk.mny.

If you find your Money data file file damaged when opening it you can restore the previous 201010.bkf backup file. The .bkf file is older data in a different format.

With Vista and Windows 7 the usual Money update procedure does not have sufficient privileges to update the files in the Program Files area. Money must be launched with administrative privileges - Run as administrator - to let the upgrade take place.

Your procedure is correct. If you are connected to the internet and launch with Run as administrator the program update will take place automatically. You do not need to ask for it.

• Marked as answer by UKGENT Monday, November 8, 2010 8:11 PM
    Monday, November 8, 2010 8:10 PM

All replies

• Hi

Thank you for taking the time to answer.