none
Help a Student with Consumer/OEM Windows Re-"Deployment" Solutions to prevent bad Upgrade or Install experiences for Customers RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I'm a Student and total noob, and I'm not even sure if I am posting in the correct forum category (sorry/not-sorry), but I just wanted to give a really short introduction to the background of my story and experience before I post my question.

In 2015, Windows 10 was pushed on to my 5 year old Windows 7 laptop while I was beginning my studies - long story short - I lost several assignments, and I had to buy a new laptop - Which had Windows 8 - another long story cut short - I ended up having to buy a retail version of Windows 10 - after the same happened to my new laptop, as the one it just replaced.

High end notebooks are given expansion slots for customers to either - replace or install new hardware - to improve and customise their device from OEM.

Here are some of what infuriated me during the last 3 years:

1) Upgrading from Home to Pro did not require a DVD, however downgrading will require an Original Installation disk for OEM SKU Windows. If the recovery image is set to update with the OS - the recovery image will now Reset, Refresh and Recover a Windows 10 Professional Edition, and not Home.

2) Default installation of Windows will automatically select "Disk 0" - which is fine if you have a previous installation of Windows - however - if you lose your OEM configurations - or replace hard drives - an automated installation does not always give the disk enumeration you want.

2a) This also poses problems during major Windows Updates - RTM, 1511, 1607, 1703. If preinstallation environments are not preloaded with drivers - which they are not; downloading through Media Creation Tool - certain drives are enumerated in different order, especially in the case of the PCIe NVMe SSD.