New user (confused) RRS feed

• Question

• I am brand new to synctoy and feel I am doing something wrong; or I don't understand how this works.  My impression of this product is that I can use it to back up my C drive.  Is that correct?

Plus I am not sure what the file name that I am told to assign to this.  What is its purpose?

Well here is what I am doing.  I plug in an external drive (where I want to back up my files.  I choose C;\ for the left drive and K;\ for the right drive.  Next I wasn't sure what option to pick (sync, echo..), so I picked echo.  Then I specivy a file???

Well when I ran this the first time it took over 2 and half hours.  When I tried it again, it took a similar amount of time.   I would have guess that the second time, it would only take minutes?

Please help

Monday, June 20, 2011 11:36 PM

All replies

• No its just to copy (Backup) your documents folder completely  or just several sub folder.

Not sure which option is best for you but pick sync it will delete the old version of the file and repace it with the latest but it copies both ways If you choose later  to use echo well thats your chose it explains what it will do to the file if you hover over the names    sync, echo, contribute

But you can copy (Backup) any folders on you C Drive if you want using a differnt folders Pair as they call it

If you do the whole C Drive yes it will take forever

• Edited by henry200956 Thursday, June 23, 2011 10:27 PM
    Tuesday, June 21, 2011 9:22 AM
  • Thanks for your reply.  I understand better.  What is purpose of the file that I have to specify?
    Wednesday, June 22, 2011 1:09 PM
  • not sure what your question is asking

Edit

I think you are asking whether to pick Sync ,Echo ,Contribute

This is refering to whether you want to copy files from Left folder (master) to Right folder (Slave)

Synchronize: New and updated files are copied both ways. Renames and deletes on either side are repeated on the other.