none
Certification path Windows 7/8 (70-680, 70-681 etc) RRS feed

• Question

• Hi

I am currently studying for my 70-680 Windows 7, Configuring. Then I will take the 70-681 Deploying Windows 7 and office 2010 since it is in line with my kind of business.

I am wondering if it is worth to also take the 70-686, Enterprise Desktop Administrator to get the MCSA Windows 7 AND then eventually upgrade that to MCSA Windows 8 (70-689) OR if I should skip the 70-686 and then later this year go for the 70-687/70-688 for the MCSA Windows 8.

All in all there is the same amount of certifications but I will get an extra title with the MCSA Win 7. Is that better then doing both Win8 certs?

Input on this is very interesting for me :)

Cheers!

Please Vote as helpful if you find this useful. Thanks!

Monday, January 7, 2013 3:01 PM

Answers

• You will bound to see the adoption rate for Windows 8 increasing but certain organization (perhaps some gov sector) has just upgraded their whole infrastructure to support Windows 7 internally so you will still see value in having the Windows 7 certification.

Unless otherwise you are very sure that you next going to work in environment that only has Windows 8 as the OS then you can forgo going for the Windows 7. 

My 2 cents is that I suggest you going for both. Just do the upgrade later on.

Regards,
    Milton Goh
    MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
    Blog: blog.nerdytwo.com
    Twitter: @miltongoh

• Marked as answer by ITHenke Thursday, January 10, 2013 7:26 AM
    Thursday, January 10, 2013 4:44 AM

All replies

• Bump!

Please Vote as helpful if you find this useful. Thanks!

Wednesday, January 9, 2013 8:18 AM
  • Hi,

Windows 7 is no going anywhere anytime soon. It's a long way for corporations to adopt to Windows 7. So it's better to get both of these certifications (MCSA: Windows 7 & 8) under your belt.

Hope this helps.

Rubel Khan

My Blog!
    Connect with me at LinkedIn
    Follow me on Twitter!

Wednesday, January 9, 2013 11:28 PM