New Customer List in CRM 2013 RRS feed

• Question

• Good Morning,

i apologize if this is already mentioned. I have a head ache from searching with no results.  I'm new to CRM 2013... I want to know how to set up 2 types of customers... to be able to have Type A customer list and Type B customer list and even a Type C customer list. Type a would be for one set of contacts and type B another and type C another. is this possible? im in the trucking industry and i have 3 types of contacts : Customer Contacts : Corporate Contacts : Driver Contacts. all help is appreciated. I'm open for advise if there is an easier way.

• Edited by Mark R183 Friday, April 4, 2014 3:35 PM
    Friday, April 4, 2014 3:34 PM

All replies

• You can use a category field to distinguish the different types of customers. I don't think there is an out of the box field for this so you will probably need to a custom field.

Or you can create a marketing list for each type of contact and then manually add each contact to the appropriate list.

In part the best approach depends on what you want to do with the separate lists.

Friday, April 4, 2014 6:49 PM
  • There is a OOB field called Relationship Type (Schema name: Customertypecode) that you can use. It is not on the form but you can add it. Here is a detailed post on how you can use it. Though the post talks of CRM 2011, the same works for CRM 2013.

As Feridun rightly mentioned, the way you design customers in your solution depends on how you want to use them but this is a simple approach that suffices most implementations.

If my response helps you in finding your answer then please click 'Mark as Answer' and 'Vote as Helpful'

Friday, April 4, 2014 7:23 PM
  • Hi Mark,