Different space offerings confuses users! RRS feed

• General discussion

• Hello,

I am a computer science PHD student in universiti sains malaysia.

The officelive, skydrive and mesh services are really great offerings. However different space offerings from Microsoft with almost the same usage confuses users. Currently I am using officelive, skydrive and mesh.

- I use mesh everyday to synchronize my document directories in university with my home pc. You have given me 5G of space and I love it. I am ready to pay 5$/months for it if you ever ask for. It has made my living much easier. I have almost forgotten USB drives and DVD/CDs for moving files between home and university.

- Now skydrive has almost the same use as mesh. So why not merge the spaces and interfaces. I should be able to share a document on my space to my friends through skydrive interface and mesh client. It will be great if I can see my mesh files through skydrive interface.

You see how confusing it has become?

- If I have a word/excel file in my mesh/skydrive why I should not be able to access it through officelive?

- I wish you could merge all these services into a single space and give me a "virtual web PC" in which I have some raw space (hard drives) and I can myself organize the drives and access them using related web applications (i.e. officelive...). I could also sync specific folders with my other PCs/Mobile etc using mesh client.

Thanks,
    Mac

Monday, January 12, 2009 2:44 AM

All replies

• We're talking Microsoft here. :-)

Keep in mind that Live Mesh is a preview right now and it is a preview for a platform, with the first application being what we see as the Live Desktop and the ability to sync between devices. It will eventually be more than this I hope, as does Microsoft, with 3rd party applications taking advantage of the environment to seamlessly let devices interconnect with your data.