none
Failing PC Hard Drive -- How to Restore to a New Unformatted Hard Drive RRS feed

• Question

• I have a fully updated Vista Ultimate 64-bit OS installed using Bootcamp on two 1TB drives (C and D) in a 2008 Mac Pro. The D drive (which is failing according to SMART, and which could not be repaired using CHKDSK) only contains some of the Vista boot information (including BCD), so it uses less than 2GB. The C drive, which is functioning well, contains all my programs and documents, and has roughly 230GB filled.

The D drive was backed up to my HP EX470 WHS about one week ago, but can no longer be backed up. The C drive still backs up every night.  The EX470 also is fully updated (including Powerpack 1).

I would like to replace the D drive with a new unformatted 1TB drive and restore from the EX470. I have downloaded the Microsoft WHS restore program and have burned a bootable restore CD.

However, I have never done a restore before, and am uncertain whether it will function properly given my configuration. I would welcome advice -- perhaps even a step-by-step algorithm -- before trying to restore. For example, do I need to format the new hard drive to NTFS before proceeding? Will the restore procedure also restore all the Vista boot information on the D drive? Is there some reason that I would also need to restore the C drive, even though it is functioning well? Will the 64-bit drivers for the Mac Pro function properly with the restore CD?

Many thanks in advance for your advice and suggestions!

Friday, March 13, 2009 12:29 AM

Answers

• Hi,
    this FAQ describes how you can restore drives from within a running OS, using ClientRestoreWizard.exe. The main point is to create the target volumes for restoring before the backup can be restored.
    Best greetings from Germany
    Olaf
    Friday, March 13, 2009 3:06 AM
  • Many thanks to Olaf!