TV tuner plugin needed RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I have a tv tuner in my server (its original a medion home media pc with cyberlink tv software...)
    I know that when i install the audio drivers (from c-media) my server dont boot anymore i have to disable the audio device in safe mode and then the server works again.
    But is it possible to record live tv on WHS and with the WHS console i can set a time and channel to record?
    This would be great so i have a multi functional device in the house to take care of ALL things.
    The server is currently directly connected to a wide screen tv so if it would be possible to view the recorded program too would be great (but i could use windows media player too)

Sorry for my bad english im still learning it Wink

Regards,
    Dennis

Friday, June 15, 2007 3:22 PM

All replies

• A simple way to do it would be to have your TV tuner in your Media Center PC and set that up as a media Center extender then feasibly any pc on your network could acess your tuner

If you insist on having your tuner inside your home server box then I would do one of 2 things

A. Go to Microsoft downloads and grab the MPEG 4 Encoder, make your TV tuner the source and then you could enable a stream on your network of your TV signal.
    B.  Download orb (www.orb.com) which will make it easy to set up your Tv signal to be shared across your network, as well as other media.  Whats nice about orb is its fully compatible with XBOX 360 seeing as how the 360 has no avi decoder soo if you dont want to be converting all your files to .wmv's  orbs software will transmit the stream to your XBOX without any problems.

The only problem i forsee is changing channels but you could always just remote in to your server and manually change the channel would be nice to see a plugin do that automatically but theres a lot of issues that would get in the way. 
    Monday, June 18, 2007 9:21 PM