none
Problems using asp.net control FileUpload RRS feed

• Question

• I am building a web page that needs to allow users to select a file to upload. 

I have never used the file uploader before, but I don't need to actually move the file anywhere, after they select it I read it and write the info to a database.

I have the "onchange" set to execute a javascript function that calls a subroutine in my vb code that does the work.

The problem I am having is that when I select a file and click the "Open button" the file uploader .HasFile (in my VB code) is false UNLESS I put a breakpoint on the line before my IF statement. 

If I do that and then click Continue after selecting the file it works perfectly. If I disable the breakpoint it never selects a file. 

I should point out that when the breakpoint is active, it gets hit multiple times, even though I only selcted the file and hit "Open" once and the FileUploadComplete is only referenced in that one spot.

I know this sounds crazy!

Here is what my code looks like:

-----------------  ASP.net code

<script type="text/javascript">

function FileUploadComp() {

var AttID = '<%=AttachmentID%>';  //document.getElementByID("FileUpload1");
         __doPostBack('FileUpload1', AttID);

}

</script>

<asp:FileUpload ID="FileUpload1" runat="server" AutoPostBack="true" onchange="FileUploadComp();"/>

------------------  VB.net Code

Protected Sub Page_Load(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Me.Load

If Not IsPostBack Then

Else   'If Not IsPostBack 

Dim eventTarget As String
                Dim eventArgument As String

If (Me.Request("__EVENTTARGET") Is Nothing) Then
                    eventTarget = String.Empty
                Else
                    eventTarget = Me.Request("__EVENTTARGET")
                End If

If (Me.Request("__EVENTARGUMENT") Is Nothing) Then
                    eventArgument = String.Empty
                Else