MS Server 2008 - Installation cannot continue RRS feed

• Question

•  

I'm getting the following error during install on Server 2008 standard 32bit.

"Network problems are preventing windows live onecare installation from continuing at this time.  Please check your network connection and then click try again.  if the problem still occurs, click get help."

Error ID: 0014-80040276.

I have disabled windows firewall with no success.  I have checked my LAN settings.  Internet works for everything else.

This is on a fresh install of windows 2008 server with no third party installations of any kind (other than sharepoint).  Please advise.

Monday, July 28, 2008 7:46 PM

Answers

• Error 0014 indicates a download error.

Unfortunately, I have no experience with OneCare for Server, so I have nothing to suggest other than contacting support. I'm not sure what their experience with the current beta/trial download is.

How to reach support (FAQ) - http://forums.microsoft.com/WindowsOneCare/ShowPost.aspx?PostID=2421771&SiteID=2

On the speculation side, when the 0014 error occurs it is either because something is blocking the download of the installation files *or* there is a server side problem. On the PC side, the Windows firewall should not be an issue, but an authenticating proxy would be an issue, as would other 3rd party security. You might want to make sure that the microsoft domain is in your trusted zone in the IE settings, but that's a wild guess on my part.

-steve

Tuesday, July 29, 2008 12:27 PM

All replies

• I have the same problem also. I have even reinstalled my server but still get the same result. I have tried both onecare for server and onecare but yo no avail. I am behind an SBS 2008 RC0 server but have disabled the firewall to no avail

Monday, July 28, 2008 10:08 PM
  • Error 0014 indicates a download error.