Creating Entities and Relationships RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to Microsoft Dynamics CRM and am trying to complete the following task.

I need to create three custom entities: Contractor, Project, and Time. The Time entity stores information about the time that was spent working on a Project by a Contractor. For example:

18/08/09 0900 - 18/08/09 1600: Total 7 hours on Project A
    18/08/09 1900 - 18/08/09 2130: Total 2 hours 30 mins on Project A

The way I think about the relationships is as follows:

A Contractor can work on multiple Projects
    A Project can be worked on by multiple Contractors

Hence, the relationship between Contractor and Project is N:N.

A Project can be associated with multiple Times.

What I need to be able to do is create a new Contractor record and press save. From within this record, I should be able to see "Projects" in the Contractor forms navigation pane, so I can click this and view all Projects that this Contractor is working on.

Similarly, if I create a new Project record and press save, I should be able to see "Contractors" in the Project forms navigation pane, so I can click this and view all Contractors that are working on this particular Project.

Also, if I create a new Time record, I should be able to know which Project this Time record is associated with, as well as the Contractor that spent this "Time" working on the project.

If someone can help me derive the correct relationship, that would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    Roshan
    Tuesday, August 18, 2009 4:41 AM

Answers

• Hi Roshan

As  you said you have to create a N:N relationship between contractor and project.
    Once you create this relatinoship both of these entities will be available in each other navigation pane. So you can see project all contractors and contractor all projects.