Can't Change Settings in Windows OneCare RRS feed

• Question

• I have been using WOC and Vista without problems for two years. Today I had to move backup files to another disc to make room on the Central Backup Device (CBD). When I tried to start a new backup to the now empty CBD folder, I got the message: "backup on your device is corrupt. Reconfigure backup and try again."

My problem is that I can't get the "Change Settings" link to open to reset the address of the CBD. I am the only user and have administrator priveleges on both the originating computer and the CBD. The CBD is running Windows 2000 and had no problems with the backup function until now.
    Monday, July 6, 2009 3:22 PM

Answers

• Whew! After closing all applications, Hub shut down and restart fixed the problem. After restart I was able to get to the backup settings and start a full backup. Fortunately OneCare database reset was not necessary.

Thanks for your help.
    Monday, July 6, 2009 6:42 PM

All replies

• if clicking Change Settings on the Hub PC doesn't work, you can try making a different PC into a Hub and see if you can access the settings from there.
    For clarification, which Change Settings are we referring to? The Change Settings link in OneCare's main screen or change settings when viewing the backup plan on the PC? (configure backup on Backup tab)

I also want to note that "Moving" the backup files means that you now need to reset the backup plan. OneCare needs to perform a new full backup for all PCs in your Circle.

-steve

Microsoft MVP Windows Live / Windows Live OneCare, Live Mesh, & MS Security Essentials Forums Moderator
    Monday, July 6, 2009 3:26 PM