none
sending video frames over Ethernet RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, 

I am an embedded programmer. I am working on a system which captures h.264 compressed video data from a hardware and save it in an avi file container. The driver of the hardware does not supports directshow. Therefore I had to stick on manufacturer's APIs and callback functions. I receive each frame and write it in an avi File. Till now everything is  working fine.

Now I need to send these captured frames over Ethernet to another PC, where we want to see the captured video frames on VLC player, in order to make sure everything is working fine. Please tell me how can I stream these video frames over ethernet. Till now, i have explored that I need to convert each video frame into rtsp stream and then send it to ethernet. But I dont have any such live streaming background. Can you recomend any c++ program that can help me to send the data over ethernet so that we can stream it on VLC player on other computer (using live frame from compression card). I have windows 7 at both ends.

regard 

Aamir 

Wednesday, October 2, 2019 4:55 PM

All replies

• Must you send each frame separately? You say you have an AVI file, why can't you simply send that file? If you can then there are plenty of samples of sending files.

Sam Hobbs
    SimpleSamples.Info

Wednesday, October 2, 2019 5:09 PM
  • Dear Sam

You are rite, this is the valid option. But we are required to send the frame, as we receive so that a person sitting remotely can watch the video instantly. Recording the frame is the another requirement which we are fulfilling fine. 

I mean i have to send frames in real time (I know there be some delay. I hope you got my point. Any solution is more than just welcome

Thanks

regards 

Aamir Akbar

Thursday, October 3, 2019 2:41 AM
  • Then you need to use the correct terminology. In VLC go to the Media menu. There is a menu item Open Network Strem...