WHS Main Drive Failure RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I'm quite new to WHS as I just installed a few weeks back. Using an old PC I installed 3 250 GB Drives into the system and ran WHS with Drive Extender. A couple of weeks back I received a warning that one of my drives were bad and it needed to be replaced. Because I had a long trip planned I decided to shutdown the server to prevent data loss. I figured I could install some new drives when I returned from my trip.

Just last night I purchased 4 - 2 TB drives to install in the WHS machine, I booted up WHS and tried to start up the console. however when I go into the console and try to access drive management i'm met with a blank console. From my best assumption the main drive which contains the install of WHS is the one that has gone bad ( I could be wrong, but I have no way to correctly diagnose this). I have the drives to replace, but i'm not sure how to do this without access to the Drive Manager in the WHS Console. 

I've heard that I should be able to install a new main drive and be able to reinstall WHS without loosing data because the 2nd and 3rd drives should have the data items on there. I could really use some direction on the best way to proceed without loosing any of my data.

Thanks for taking the time to read this, and I would really appreciate any help you could provide!

Friday, April 8, 2011 3:32 PM

All replies

• You really have two options, remove the system drive, and perform a server re-installation which means that you will be re-installing the OS, make sure that you are not performing a new installation as that will wipe out your data disks, some details are here:

http://social.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/whsfaq/thread/cf354b5d-b37b-4b7f-a0d5-8e573697777f

Otherwise you can do a search on server re-install to see various results.