Cant use Remote Desktop RRS feed

• Question

• Hey I just started playing with live mesh and I want to use the remote desktop I added it as a device but it says I cant do remote desktop I allowed live mesh in the windows firewall. I think it has to do with my router as to why I cant do it. Im using a belkin router dose anyone think they can help me out?
    Saturday, April 26, 2008 1:24 AM

Answers

• Hi samlikecoke,

Live Mesh currently does not support over-the-shoulder elevation (i.e., installing from a standard account and entering your admin password when prompted).  You have to install while actually logged in as an admin.  Please try uninstalling Live Mesh from your Vista PC, and then reinstalling while logged in as an admin.

Also please note that you need to remove the device from your mesh before uninstalling the software.  To do this, go to the Devices page, select the device you want to remove, click Options, and then click Remove device from Live Mesh.

After you have reinstalled the Live Mesh software, you should be able to open a Live Mesh Remote Desktop connection to that device.  Please let me know if you continue to have issues, though.

Thanks,

Ben.
    Monday, April 28, 2008 9:44 PM

All replies

• On the target PC is remote desktop enabled in the firewall? In fact, are you using Windows Firewall or a 3rd party firewall?
    -steve
    Microsoft MVP Windows Live / Windows Live OneCare Forum Moderator
    Sunday, April 27, 2008 7:54 PM
  • Hi samlikecoke,

To clarify: Are you attempting to start a Live Mesh Remote Desktop session and receiving an error?  Or is the notifier telling you that the device is unavailable for Live Mesh Remote Desktop?

If it's the latter, please try connecting anyway.  We have a known issue where a device is listed as unavailable for Live Mesh Remote Desktop, but the user can still connect (it is a problem with updating the availability status of the device, and does not interfere with the actual connection).