Sharing photo folder, (mainly win 7)? RRS feed

• General discussion

• As I'm new to WHS I have a few questions regarding how to set it all up.
    As I do have a few computers and a few users on the network, what is the best practice with photos, movies etc. as we have a wide range of desktops, notebooks etc which we would like to sync to the whs, what's the best practice with things we'd like to share?

I have all my photos from back in 1998 when I bought my first digital camera stored on my desktop (my photos, win7) and would love this to go into the photo share on the whs. I'd also like to have all photos from the other computers into the same share.
    However, as I understand it, when I do a backup, I get a copy of my photos stored under my user files on the server, but it's not in the photo share.
    As far as I understand, I could create sub folders to this share for each computer and map the my photos folder to the share and turn on the offline thingy on the notebooks, and then turn off backup for these folders. But what's the best way to do this but at the same time reduce the redundancy on the server?
    I have noticed that there's a way to include folders to the library in win 7, is this a good thing?
    How do you guys solve this?

I suppose this would be the same deal for music and movies too?

And yes, I have an xbox360 and I'm planning to use it every now and then to show slides, movies etc...

• Changed type Bjurran Monday, December 28, 2009 5:53 PM
    Monday, December 28, 2009 5:52 PM

All replies

• As I'm new to WHS I have a few questions regarding how to set it all up.
    As I do have a few computers and a few users on the network, what is the best practice with photos, movies etc. as we have a wide range of desktops, notebooks etc which we would like to sync to the whs, what's the best practice with things we'd like to share?