Organize Projects in Project Center RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to using Project Server, and am looking to organize projects by different categories in project center. A basic nested folder structure similar to folders in Windows would work excellent, but I am unsure on how to structure this in Project Server 2010. Any help on how to structure this would be appreciated.

Wednesday, February 23, 2011 10:01 PM

Answers

All replies

• Hi Egglectc149,

You can't create folder for this view, but you can create a new views for your Project Center, by this way you can organize your projects for example by State, Project Type, etc,  the way for do this, is creating a new categories for your project by custom fields, after that, you can create  a new view where you be able to grouping o filtering your projects with the custom field that you created.

For example, if you want to organize your project by type, maybe your can use some field called Enterprise Project Type Name, this field you can use for grouping or filtering if you create differents type of project to create, but first take a look in every field you be able to use with your projects by default, and by this way you can easly create a view and orgnizate your projects, if not, create a new custom fields that you need to organize your porjects and use them for grouping or filtering in your new view.

How to create a new custom filed: http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/project-server-help/create-or-modify-a-custom-field-HA010098007.aspx

How to create a new view: http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/project-server-help/set-up-a-project-web-app-view-HA102013576.aspx

Grouping formats: http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/project-server-help/change-the-formatting-of-rows-within-groups-HA101827982.aspx?CTT=3

Raymundo Chapa, MCTS Project Server and Team Foundation Server
    Wednesday, February 23, 2011 10:21 PM