Help ! How Can I perform a preview with C# SMF ? RRS feed

• Question

• Hello all,

I am new to MSF.
    I wish to use it to sync files and \ or directories.
    I've already started coding what I need, and it seems to be working great.
    The desired file \ folder are synced.
    The only problem I have is - I wish to perform a check before I start syncing and preview if there is anything to sync in the desired operation - how do I do it ?
    I've seen that it is possible to do so somehow - as SyncToy v2.0 can perform PREVIEW ...

How can I implement it ?
    Can anyone point me in the right direction please ?

I've already gone over all the data members and attributes SyncAgent has and FileSyncProvider has with no luck.

By the way - hooking the DetectedChangesEventArgs doesn't seem to work - as the callback function is never called , not when there are changes detected and not when there aren't any changes detected  ...

Please someone - help !
    • Moved by Max Wang_1983 Thursday, April 21, 2011 10:15 PM forum consolidation (From:SyncFx - Technical Discussion [ReadOnly])
    Monday, February 18, 2008 4:50 PM

Answers

• Hi,

the following example should help.

Basically the providers have a PreviewMode property that you can set to true. If you do that they will go through their change batch enumeration and call all events similar to a normal sync, but the actual data will not be transferred.

The ApplyingChange event is probably most interesting to you. In my example this will output things like:
    Create/Modify... - oldName.txt -> newName.txt

Hope that helps,
    Alex

static void Main(string[] args)
            {
                string _sourceDir = @"c:\temp\1";
                string _destDir = @"c:\temp\2";

SyncId _sourceId = new SyncId(new Guid("A4715EAF-341E-4ebf-90C3-71E8644CA6E8"));
                SyncId _destId = new SyncId(new Guid("FF766014-0DA4-401d-BDA1-0679326ECF96"));

#region Scope