none
interested in mcse infrastructure server 2012 RRS feed

• Question

• Guys I have been working in Server environments for over ten years I have MSDN and Technet so I will have no problem getting software. I have a very good test lab at my house which includes a couple Poweredge servers and managed network switches. My problem has always been test taking some guys are good others are not. It's a ton of information so I'm trying to figure out how to best break the information down and study effectively. Also there seems to be lots of different information on study material for example the first test I plan to take is 70-410. You have some people that use the Microsoft books for 70-410 and others say they are horrible so as a newbie to certs I don't know where to start when it comes to picking out books. I'm not so much worried about CBTS as CBT Nuggets and TrainSignal put out decent products.
    Tuesday, March 18, 2014 2:35 AM

Answers

• Hi, OSU75.

You are right; taking tests is a different skill that requires practice and experience. Passing an exam is more than simply knowing the information. Let me share a few tips with you for passing Microsoft exams.

Preparation

When you are ready to start working towards a big certification such as the MCSE you mentioned, it's best to just focus on passing one exam at a time. For example, you have already identified 70-410 as the first exam you want to pass.

Go to that exam's description web page and print the Skills measured section of the exam. You must study each topic mentioned in the exam description. At minimum, you should have the names of these topics memorized enough so that you will recognize them if they pop up as an answer to an exam question. Study the additional preparation resources listed under each subtopic as well. Read the TechNet documentation for all the topics listed.