Got sick of activation. RRS feed

• General discussion

• I bought an upgrade disk for XP for an old 99 Gateway. It had problems and I had to reinstall xp 4 times on it. Activating every time. I destroyed the Gateway and built my own system. Using the 98 disc and upgrade disk I installed XP. Six months later I had my hard drive crash, reformat installed again. Then I had to download all the stupid updates and such.

Another 3 months later my Windows was so messed up I had to reformat again. But it wouldn't activate. I called up and got a activation thing and all was well. Until I bought a new motherboard after I fried the old one.

I didn't feel like going through the hassle of installing 98, upgrading to XP and changing the file system to NTFS because it takes forever. So I just used a pirated copy with SP2 slip streamed into it. Figured who cares? I already have a legal copy sitting here, that I paid for that is such a pain in the ***.

Now I have been using this for 7 months, no problems with all the settings tweaked. I have done hundreds of reg edits, installed over 100 programs and changed the settings on everything to my liking. Have hundreds of megs of updates and just don't feel like starting over until it crashes.

Is there a way I can convince MS to let me keep my pirate version and still get updates? Hell I'll mail them my 98 and upgrade disk. All legal, glossy and with their original folder thingies.

If not is there a way I can save every setting from this version of SP2 Pro and put it in my Upgrade home?

Wednesday, June 14, 2006 2:15 AM

All replies

• Microsoft does not support an illegal, pirated version of Windows.  Suggest you visit a local software store and purchase a genuine version.
    Wednesday, June 14, 2006 2:29 AM
  • I already have a legal version. As mentioned previously. Can you try reading the question in entirety before slamming me with a 'copy paste' response?
    Wednesday, June 14, 2006 9:34 AM