Log Off and Freezes RRS feed

• Question

• I have been using Windows Home server for about 5 months.  In the last month I have been experiencing some strange issues.  I wasn't sure how to go about this issue.  I should let you know that I have no monitor hooked up to the computer so I can't check it for any errors.

Now let's get into the problem.  There are times when the Home Server Console freezes and then logs me out.  In some instances I can log in within 5 minutes but there are other times when the Home Server warning icon turns white (saying that it has lost connection to server).  When that happens I have to force restart my computer from the power button.

I tend to stream videos from my home server and it seems like during these reboots the movies stop streaming.  Then after the server reboots I can continue the video again. 

Does anyone have any ideas why this is happening?
    Friday, May 9, 2008 3:49 PM

Answers

• I think I know what is going on here.  I originally got an evaluation copy of Windows Home Server about 5 months ago.  It was an evaluation copy that was only suppose to last for 4 months.  After about 75 days I had forgetten when I had installed it so I checked the expiration date.  It said it was going to expire in 105 days.  So I figured I had 105 days.  Although even though it said it would expire in 105 days it really meant it was going to drop to a limited version in 45 days. 

That 45 days came and my computer started to shut down after about an hour.  I didn't realize it was occuring on a regular basis but it probably was shutting down in regular intervals.  Unfortunately because windows home server never gave me any messages I believed it to be a corrupt OS or a damaged computer.  So I pursued the computer route.

After a little over a month of not finding anything I decided to post this question on the board.  I got a reply to install the toolkit.  I looked at the logs and after a reboot it had a message stating: