none
2 questions on upgrading MCSA & MCDST RRS feed

• Question

• I found out that my night school is doing a special discount for anyone who can take and pass a 72-series exam by June 30. This is in addition to the free exam from Dreamspark.

I looked, and of the ones I'm interested in, only the 72-648 is listed. Am I correct in assuming that 72-648  is essentially the same as 70-648 and that the "MCTS Exams 70-648/649: Transitioning your MCSA/MCSE to Windows server 2008: Self Paced Training Kit" book will prepare me for it?

Also, the book mentinos needing Vista Business for the practices. Will substituting Windows 7 professional work without too much head scratching or should I download the Vista Business demo? I've never used any version of Vista other than the Home versions, and I'm still learning the differences between XP Pro and Win7.

I've got the following OSes available:Windows 7 64-bit Professional (upgrade version, can't use directly on a virtual machine), Vista Home Premium (both 32 and 64), Windows XP Professional, Windows 2000 Professional, Windows 98SE.

I've also got Windows 95 and  MS-DOS 3.30. I used to have MS-DOS 6.22, but the machine I installed it on has a bad hard drive and the critical install disk is bad. Not that I expect to use them for this UPGRADE test.

I also have copies of Server 2003 and 2008 from Dreamspark. I also haven't used 2000, 95, or MS-DOS in years, so I haven't verified the state of the install media.

Oh, finally, any chance of a 72-682 discount in the near future? I saw the Vista equivalent exam there, but not the win7 one.
    Thursday, June 9, 2011 7:23 PM

Answers

• The "72" prefix exams are specifically meant for students and, yes, they are identical to their "70" series counterparts to the best of my knowledge. The only difference is the pricing and requirements to get a voucher (must be a student, yadda yadda).