project server 2010: publishing project templates on server RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

How do you publish or make the project templates appear on the server for everyone's use? I am able to create a project template using project professional and saving it as a file but when I save it on the server, it doesn't show up anywhere on the server's page (pwa). Where is it supposed to show? am I missing something? I tried publishing the template but its impossible. I'm new to using epm so any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks, George

Saturday, January 22, 2011 9:46 AM

Answers

• Hi geo_d,

In Project Server 2010, once you save the Project template on the server, on PWA it will available for you to be associated with the EPT.

1. Click Server settings

2. Under "Workflow and Project Detail Pages", click on Enterprise Project Types

3. Click on any of the existing EPT, scroll to the bottom and you will find the drop down "Project Plan Template".

4. Select your published Project template from the drop down, and save the EPT

5. Now when you create project using that EPT through PWA, the attached template will be used to create New project.

Note: The project template cannot be attached with your default EPT.

If you use Project professional to create New Project, follow the step to create New project using the Enterprise template:

1. Open Project Professional, and click on New.

2. Under the Available templates, click on Project Server Templates

3. Under the Project Server template tab,you can select your desired Project template.

You can also verify if your template is published on the server:

1. Click Server settings

2. Under Database Administration

3. Click delete Enterprise objects

3. Select Projects, and you can find you Project template among the list of projects.

4. You can differentiate between your template and projects through the Type column.

Does this help?