Backing up System images? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi everyone,

I have a quick question regarding WHS and how it 'backs things up'. Right now, I'm using WHS primarily for backing up the 2 laptops in my house, using the computer backup feature. This has been working well so far - no complaints. As I'm not sharing much data between the 2 laptops, I'm not using the shared folder feature much (yet).

Herein lies the problem: I want to "back up the server" to an external hard drive - easy enough. I fully understand how to set this up, but everywhere I read, this whole folder duplication / backup technology only applies to shared & personal folders - not PC backups. Therefore, in my case, adding an external hard drive is essentially useless, as I'm not storing things in the personal folders. Suppose an emergency, such as a fire, my external hard drive wouldn't have the PC's backups. Yikes!

Any clarification on this? Am I reading right? I'm actually a systems admin and deal with disaster recovery on a day to day basis. I'm trying WHS as it seems like a great product, but if this is the issue, then we're basically back to square one. I know I'm basically worrying about 'backing up the backup', but being able to back up everything but the PC backups would seem to be a pretty big oversight... Hmmm...
    • Edited by Scottyyyc Friday, June 5, 2009 8:42 PM
    Friday, June 5, 2009 8:34 PM

Answers

• Thanks for the advice, it helps somewhat. Again, I'm a systems admin, so many of the things you speak of I am definately familiar with. I usually put important files, downloads, etc in common areas on shared drives. Obviously, there's things local to a PC that would never normally make their way on there. It just seems as though not backing up the PC backups is a critical oversight. If you're saying you're backing up the server, back up the server. Not backing up the OS itself is one thing, but everything 'but' the OS (anything user related) should be getting backed up.