Invalid Key? RRS feed

• Question

• Hey guys,

I recently repaired my genuine installation of Windows XP Professional SP2. Problem is, when it asks me for my product key, it says it's invalid! I've been using the key for almost 2 years without a problem (it is genuine / i've passed validation on the microsoft.com website). What I believe now is that I have an OEM key (since it came from a manufacturer of computers) and i need the OEM cd to install windows, but the problem is, I was not provided the OEM cd from the start; all I have is a normal Windows XP Pro CD from another computer.

Is there a way I could get an OEM cd with my key?

Friday, July 7, 2006 9:25 PM

Answers

• kaheiyeh,

That's great, if you have any more questions concerning WGA, please don't hesitate to ask.

Thanks,

Saturday, July 8, 2006 4:34 AM

All replies

• Microsoft does not offer replacements of OEM Windows XP CDs.  You need to contact the manufacturer of your computer and request their OEM Windows XP recovery CD designed for your specfic computer.

How to replace lost, broken, or missing Microsoft software or hardware: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/326246/en-us  

Friday, July 7, 2006 11:12 PM
  • Actually i'm alright now, I used the Key Update Tool from Microsoft to change my key and now the diagnostic tool says it's genuine; but thanks for the help
    Friday, July 7, 2006 11:19 PM
  • kaheiyeh,

That's great, if you have any more questions concerning WGA, please don't hesitate to ask.

Thanks,

Saturday, July 8, 2006 4:34 AM
  • Derrick,