Sync Framework Referential integrity problem RRS feed

• Question

• I have a master table header record with two child table Detail records that contain Foreign Keys to the header record.  In my scenario, deletes do not cascade to children, but instead the Foreign Key in a child is set to null when an Header record is deleted.  This all happens in one offline client session and the data is then saved to the local client Compact Framework 3.5 database.

When the changes attempt to sync to the server, I get FK constraint errors, seemingly irrespective of the order of the Sync Tables in the ServerSyncProvider

Somewhere I saw that Deletes are processed first (in reverse sync table order) before inserts/updates (in sync table order).  Is this the order:

1.Detail table deletes

2.Header table deletes

3.Header table inserts/updates

4.Detail table inserts/updates

I can see that the FK error would result during step 2, because the updated Null FK's in the detail records would not be processed until step 4.  Is there a way around this conundrum, or am I missing something obvious here?

Thanks in advance for ANY help you can give me... This Sync Framework is the greatest thing since sliced bread if I can just get smart enough to use it correctly!

• Moved by Max Wang_1983 Friday, April 22, 2011 8:00 PM forum consolidation (From:SyncFx - Microsoft Sync Framework Database Providers [ReadOnly])
    Sunday, April 13, 2008 1:31 AM

All replies

•  

Hi,

are you using P2P or the sync service V1( hub-spoke cases ) ?

the sync service for ado.net V1 doesn't support FK creation at the client db and user application was expected to create the desired FKs after the inital sync or during the inital sync with the SchemaCreated event.

could you confirm if this is the case ?

thanks

Yunwen

Sunday, April 13, 2008 5:01 PM
  •  

I'm using the sync service for ado.net V2.