How set MS Money 2004 Standard OEM edition for LIFO Tax calculations RRS feed

• Question

• Hi everyone.  I've been using MSM 2004 OEM edition with Win 7 for many years and have been extremely satisfied with it's operation.  The one feature I'd like to change however is the way it records capital gains and losses.  By default, it uses FIFO accounting and I find that I often have a tax advantage in using LIFO.  I can't find anyway to change it to LIFO.  If anyone knows how, can you give me detailed instructions on how to do it?  

In the event my version of MSM is unable to program LIFO, can you tell my a version that's still available that can? 

Tuesday, May 12, 2020 5:21 PM

All replies

• No, I think there is no automatic LIFO setting for any version. FIFO, but not LIFO.

You can select specific lots, and select the newest yourself.

Why LIFO?

Wednesday, May 13, 2020 2:21 AM
  • I'm UK based, I'm not a qualified accountant but I think I know how HMRC (in my case) wants me to handle the computation of my Capital Gains.

Doing things some other way, to make it LOOK as if my tax liability is lower, seems almost delusional to me - but that's just a personal opinion.

With Money 2000 International English I can set FIFO ~ I don't know what Money does if I choose NOT to set FIFO (is that: LIFO, FILO or LILO who knows?).

I have found it much more convenient to export investment reports to Excel and to manipulate them there following my government's rules. This way I can change my Excel functions as tax regulations, rates and allowances change. 

Teabag 

Wednesday, May 13, 2020 8:49 PM
  • With Money 2000 International English I can set FIFO ~ I don't know what Money does if I choose NOT to set FIFO (is that: LIFO, FILO or LILO who knows?).

If you don't select to always use FIFO, Money brings up a pop-up that lets you make some choices, including you-choose how many shares come from each remaining lot.