Microsoft is a joke RRS feed

• General discussion

• What I would like to know is why all of a sudden validation is a big thing? I have used windows XP for over 7years and all of a sudden they are saying I may be a victim of software counterfeiting! I am not a business person I am a student! Most people that say buy a used computer usually don't worry about validating they just assume that when buying from a business that everything is legitimate! One usually don't ask "Hey is this software legitimate" Please!  My opinion Window XP is "over priced" and "over rated".  You would think that Bill Gates has enough money without wanting people to buy again! I feel that if Microsoft is so worried about stupid xxxx like software counterfeiting they should send those people a FREE copy of Windows XP.

Sunday, May 14, 2006 5:39 PM

All replies

• Watch the language please.

We respect the opinions and comments of all users, but there is no need for that type of language. I have "XX"ed out the vulgar language, as many users of all ages use this public forum.

-Phil Liu

Monday, May 15, 2006 3:43 AM
  • I agree with you. I am insulted by the fact that a feature I paid and contracted for (custom control of Automatic Updates) and used for years has now been denied me unless I allow Microsoft to put their spyware on my computer. As if that weren't enough they are disingenous in implying that they are doing us a favor by "ensuring that we have a genuine copy of Windows". Microsoft should at least have the guts to be honest about what their real intent is by simplying stating that they prefer to treat everyone that uses their products as a low life software pirate. Now, nearly everytime I try to run the custom updates I am denied until I install the lastest "Genuine Notification". If I don't install this then I am limited to only being able to install security updates using the Express option.