Bayesian statistic theory question (Migrated from community.research.microsoft.com) RRS feed

• Question

• freddycct posted on 07-31-2009 1:59 AM

Hi, I am a beginner in the Bayesian approach of machine learning. I have read some literature on Bayesian Inference and parameter learning. I have a few queries that I hope to find an answer to.

In the case of coin toss, we often use a Beta Distribution as a conjugate prior for inferring the probability of the next coin toss landing on heads assuming that we have observed a series of coin tosses. I understand that Beta Distribution has a convenient property where the posterior is also a Beta Distribution.

1) My question is how did the Beta Distribution come about? How do we derive the Beta Distribution? I know that wikipedia has a derivation of Dirichlet Distribution using Gamma Distribution. But that is not intuitive and fundamental enough.

2) Can we use a Binomial Distribution as a prior for bayesian inference and prediction?

3) Finally, I read that discrete random variables should not have continuous random variables as parents. But why do we use Beta Distribution which is a continuous function as parent of a discrete event?

Pardon me if these questions sound silly. But I really hope to find an answer.

Friday, June 3, 2011 5:10 PM

Answers

• freddycct replied on 08-05-2009 12:53 AM

Hi, 

Can you recommend a textbook that explains the exponential family of distribution easily.

For the problem of continuous parents and discrete child, I read about the difficulties from Uri Lerner who classify these as Hybrid Bayesian Networks. http://robotics.Stanford.EDU/~uri/Papers/ . I guess it might be easier now.

Thanks for the reply.

All replies

• John Guiver replied on 08-04-2009 5:05 AM