none
I have been contacted via email and requested to complete a Microsoft Deployment Summary, is this a scam or is this a valid Microsoft request.

Question

• For several weeks now my client has been receiving emails from a person claiming to be a consultant for Microsoft. This person is requesting that my client fill out this elaborate spreadsheet which is titled, "Deployment Summary". I have been working IT for almost 20 years and have never encountered anything of this nature before now. My instincts say not to trust this person and to ignore this request.  

I have searched the web and read many different responses to the question on if this is or is not a scam but have not been able to find a clear answer. 

Some of the tech sites mention the possibility of this being a legit request, yet some of the forums mention that it is a scam. 

Is there an authoritative source for a clear answer?  Can anyone provide the definitive answer to this situation?

Richard Tamboli

Friday, March 03, 2017 10:01 PM

Answers

• Richard,

Think of it this way:

Whats gonna happen if you delete it and ignore it?  If its legit, at some point Microsoft would contact your client in other ways.  If its a scam, you did the right thing.

Whats gonna happen if you reply?  If its legit, Microsoft would probably STILL contact your client in other ways.  If its a scam, there is no going back and all that info is screwed.

Put those ways, your best bet is clearly the ignore route.

Andrew

P.S.  I say this because I actually receive emails similar to that from Microsoft that are actually legit... and... I receive them that are fake.  I generally wait until Microsoft calls or contacts me further, often using a backup email address I have provided, but occasionally a phone.  However, I would still lean towards them being fake.

• Marked as answer by Ricit Tuesday, March 07, 2017 12:00 PM
    Friday, March 03, 2017 10:44 PM

All replies

• Hi Ricit.