Re-activating after server re-installation? RRS feed

• Question

• Hello, I'm a WHS noob, but generally know what I'm doing with computers and servers.

I installed WHS 180 day evaluation last week - all went OK.  Then two days ago, I got the old 'SYS drive is failing' error.  It advised me to Repair the disk, which I did.  After doing the repair, I rebooted the server but it wouldn't boot up again.  After the server went through POST, I got a black screen.

Anyway, I looked through these forums and decided to try a Server Re-installation from the DVD.  It seemed to go OK, and miraculously, the SYS drive seems healthy again (for how long, who knows, but I did take the server off my UPS which may or may not help). 

I then got prompted to activate WHS.  I'd done this already when I installed WHS orignally.  When I try to activate, the activation tells me that the product key has already been activated, and I need to provide a new key.

Surely a server re-install is quite a common scenario - why do I need a new key?  How can I get a new key?  Do I have to send for (and pay for) another 180-day eval copy of WHS?

I really want to like WHS, but it's not making it very easy - it's been one thing after another with it so far...

MTIA.
    Ferps
    Thursday, January 10, 2008 1:55 PM

All replies

• I guess you're talking about the 120 day evaluation version.

Yes you will need a new key. Just use "phone activation" I'm 99% sure MS will provide a new key.

And yes there's still a few issues. That's one of the disadvantages of early adopters

Thursday, January 10, 2008 2:15 PM
  • Thank you - I will give it a try.  I had assumed they wouldn't give me a new product key, only give me the big long activation key.
    Thursday, January 10, 2008 2:21 PM
  •  ferpferp wrote:
    Thank you - I will give it a try.  I had assumed they wouldn't give me a new product key, only give me the big long activation key.
    You're right.
    Thursday, January 10, 2008 2:27 PM