none
Why so difficult IF we are dealing with entities like dates, file size, file names, etc??? RRS feed

• General discussion

• In a feeble attempt to do what SyncToy does (or does it, based on replies?), as a non programmer I use a simple system.   Using screen shots, here is how I verify my files which I have transferred to a removable drive vs the originals on my PC.
    A  Start with the PC and  view the file directory you want to compare  with the removable drive, and take a screen shot at an appropriate starting point, based on your initial criteria, be it date, names(alpha sort), size (size sort, etc). 

B  Do the same with the removable drive.   In doing this screen shot attempt to align the starting point  at top of the screen hence top of the remov drive page.

Now you have 2 screen shots, one each of the two drives files U wish to compare.  Easy enough to cut and paste (You are using JPG files now, we have visual pages of the data) and determine how well you have done your file transfers.

You add or delete what and where you desire.  Usually you do not deal with 100.00000000% accuracy, since some overflow is unimportant.

IT WORKS, sorry, but it does.

If the programmers that are modifying an apparently 'nearly perfect' system, and they already get bugs, I see little difference unless you are at Yale and attempting to coordinate this years graduating class stats with that of the 1928 class...???

What he is saying is,  our words and letters are simply symbols, why cannot the programmers do as I have done VISUALLY by screeh shots, with their programs, which should be able to grab the same symbols and manipulate them with much greater accuracy and grace???