none
Invalid license after 3 years? RRS feed

• Question

• I have been running Vista Home Premium for 3 years and now I am getting random error messages that it is not valid.  I have a product key on the side and I checked with a phone agent at Microsoft and it's valid. :(  It came loaded as the OS on a brand new HP Pavillion Slimline which I purchased from Bell Canada, my phone and IS provider.  Also since this error the printer spooler system has gone into an infinite loop of crashes.  And the Microsoft webcam which worked perfectly fine before - just like the printer used to (Canon MX-320 - a whole month old). printer spooler error is preventing me form reinstalling the drivers for the Canon. It's set to autimatic and there is nothing wrong with the Remote Procedure Call form what I've been able to tell.

I ran one of the suggested diagnostics and it gave me this:

C:\Windows\system 32\slmgr.vbs

line 291

char 5

error  0xC004D401

code C004D401

source (null)'

Please advise. :( Thank you!

Sunday, June 19, 2011 9:23 AM

Answers

• "Aqualyra" wrote in message news:f59fd8ea-4556-4c4d-948e-67f0f413d8a8...

I have been running Vista Home Premium for 3 years and now I am getting random error messages that it is not valid.  I have a product key on the side and I checked with a phone agent at Microsoft and it's valid. :(  It came loaded as the OS on a brand new HP Pavillion Slimline which I purchased from Bell Canada, my phone and IS provider.  Also since this error the printer spooler system has gone into an infinite loop of crashes.  And the Microsoft webcam which worked perfectly fine before - just like the printer used to (Canon MX-320 - a whole month old). printer spooler error is preventing me form reinstalling the drivers for the Canon. It's set to autimatic and there is nothing wrong with the Remote Procedure Call form what I've been able to tell.

line 291

char 5

error  0xC004D401

code C004D401

source (null)'