Creating a server and client RRS feed

• Question

• Hey,
    I am new to network programming, if anyone can help it would be greatly appreciated.
    I am creating a multiplayer game with XNA game studio in Microsoft Visual Studio 2010 (C# code). I know it is better to ask this question here than the XNA forums. Anyway I am using TcpListener and TcpClient classes for all connections/communications (on the server and client), information is sent from the client to the server every 10 miliseconds (the client asks for specific information, for example: what players are connected and where are they). Whenever information is about to be sent a new background thread is created (for it to do its own thing - using threads also mean if the client has high latency it wont lag the program, which is the reason why i used threads for all connections in the first place) but the question is...

Information between the server and client is sent so fast that the SERVER actually gets mixed up and sometimes sends integer only messages back with strings. I am very lost on what to do here, should i slow down connections to every 100 milliseconds which makes a maximum of 10 fps for gameplay which might not confuse/mix up the server or mabye use multiple NetworkStreams somehow...

I am also confused how CPU usage of the program jumps to 50% sometimes which it should not, i think the cause of this is because of the amount of messages sent or possibly the amount of threads being created. I hope I am not asking to much and that also you understood what i am saying here lol... If not say so, I will try to explain it better.

Thanks
    Xanather!

Take a look at my site: http://www.xanather.com

• Moved by Leo Liu - MSFT Wednesday, July 6, 2011 3:03 AM Off-Topic (From:Visual C# General)
    Thursday, June 30, 2011 12:07 PM

Answers

• Having a client ask the server for information is not going to work.  I'm assuming you've played multiplayer games before.  Do you understand what a ping is?