Installed new backup harddrive in server. Now I cannot get remote access. RRS feed

• Question

• I was running WHS and had a very difficult time getting remote access. Finally contacted Linksys and they helped me with port 443 and 4125 setup. Remote worked fine then. Sometimes the router had to be reset because I would get kicked off, but for the most part it worked. Last night I put in a new harrdrive for an extra 750 GB (old computer only had 150GB). Now I cannot get remote access at all. I went and did a router configuration - nothing. My ISP (COX) said they do not block ports 80.443,4125. I'm really at a loss. I know it has something to do with the new harddrive, but I'm new at this. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

Monday, January 14, 2008 11:11 PM

Answers

• Static IPs usually do cost a bit more, yeah. WHS does do dynamic DNS (it'll periodically tell homeserver.com what your IP address is), but if you ISP is changing your IP often, you'll run into issues like you've had.

Can't quite tell if it's working for you now. Are you still having issues?

Wednesday, January 16, 2008 6:12 AM
  • Yes. But, I'm connecting remotely about 60% of the time. At least I can get on some of the time. Before it was NEVER. I appreciate your insight. Thanks again.

Wednesday, January 16, 2008 11:24 PM

All replies

• I'm guessing that when you set up your router with Linksys support, you had to enter the current WHS IP address. Is that correct?

Is the server's IP address still the same? Sometimes during after a reboot, the DHCP server on the router might not give WHS the same IP.

Monday, January 14, 2008 11:17 PM
  • IP address remained the same.
    Tuesday, January 15, 2008 3:06 AM
  • Does WHS work inside your network currently (i.e. shares, websites)? Is it just accessing it from the internet that's not working?

Tuesday, January 15, 2008 4:02 AM