Getting updates after a fresh re-install RRS feed

• Question

• I am an on-call technician and have always enjoyed recommending Microsoft products....which in my world is a rarity. I recently picked up a clients system that had a hard drive crash and some yoyo brought a dell OEM XP Home CD to reinstall her OS. That wasn't the problem though. When I arrived I changed the product key to the correct one to activate and had to call Microsoft to get their code during the activation process. All went well and the product was activated. Well, as fate has it after further examination the yoyo messed up all her previous installed programs and left virus's and parasites on the system so I brought it to the shop and did a low level format and a clean install. I used a holographic OEM XP Home edition CD and used her correct COA key code and it activated just fine. SUPER!! But now here is the problem. When I go for the updates the Microsoft site says: Validation incomplete unable to perform validation. (0x80080299) Then in proceeds to tell me why I should have Genuine Microsoft software.  I DO!! After this Microsoft treats me like a bootlegger and renders little help. What is up with this? I realize that because of the amount of times this software has been activated may seem to Microsoft suspisious at best but in no way should render a customer guilty without cause. Oh BTW she had her Hard drive replaced a few years ago as well so there was another activation. Where does one go from here?

Sunday, June 25, 2006 11:05 PM

Answers

• OK, nevermind, I got the impression that it was a Dell.

Sunday, June 25, 2006 11:33 PM

All replies

• Shop,

If the computer was a Dell, that was what was supposed to have been done..reinstall or cleanly install using the supplied Dell reinstallation CD.

Why did you use anything else?

Sunday, June 25, 2006 11:11 PM