Moving my windows 7 hard drive to another motherboard RRS feed

• Question

• I don't know if this is the right forum for this, apologies if it isn't.

I am a student, home for Christmas, and needed my files and programs to get my work done. I use an AMD 6 core with a Gigabyte motherboard. When I hooked up my hard drive with windows 7 on it, to a machine with and AMD quad core, on a Gigabyte motherboard. I start it up, and it gets to the 'Starting Windows' splash screen, when it restarts the computer. I've tried system restore, repair with my install disk, plugged my hard drive into another machine and booted it's windows 7, to change the driver to generic, something I read a while ago. Didn't work.

I need to get this working on the machines we have here so I can do some Uni work. Could I reinstall windows, on this new setup? 

Tuesday, December 28, 2010 3:23 PM

Answers

All replies

• Hello Singlular1ty,

Your issue is one of installation and activation, it does not have anything to do with Validation.

Please repost in this forum:  http://social.answers.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/w7install/threads?filter=answered

• Marked as answer by Darin Smith MS Tuesday, December 28, 2010 11:06 PM
    Tuesday, December 28, 2010 3:26 PM
    1. If you were to get this to boot you would be in notification mode due to the fact that the keys is licensed on an existing hardware configuration.
    2. Repair installs of Vista and 7 are not supported (with the exception of an upgrade install from within windows, which requires a succesful boot into windows).
    3. Unless you wait until you get back to school and hook up your drive to the original computer and by some chance your install will still boot then you are in a data recovery mode.

I would advise against installing windows on that drive while booting from someone elses computer, you may end up ruining the installation on that PC or at a minimum breaking the boot sector when windows installs the boot menu for dual booting.