MCDST,MCSA,MCSE Questions RRS feed

• Question

• My name is Dan Rice and I am a student of Linn State Technical College in Linn Missouri and I am about to receive my Associate of Applied Science Degree with a major in Networking Systems Technology. I only have two classes to go before I get my first degree and then my CCNA. I was thinking of getting three certifications from Microsoft to start out with. My first ideas are MCDST, MCSA and MCSE. I was wondering a number of things.

70-271 MCDST  MCSA

70-272 MCDST  MCSA

70-270             MCSA

70-290             MCSA  MCSE

70-291             MCSA  MCSE

70-293                       MCSE

70-294                       MCSE

70-297                       MCSE

70-624                            MCSE

1. How long is each exam valid for?

2. Can you do like I did above; use one exam for multiple certifications?

3. Once you have a Microsoft certification does it need renewed?

4. If your Microsoft certification does need renewed how often?

5. Where can I find vouchers to reduce the prices because as is I will at least be paying $1125

6. Where can I find great study materials

Thank you for your help.

Dan Rice: Project+, Certified Fiber Optic Technician

• Edited by zimzumus Tuesday, September 23, 2008 11:38 PM
    Tuesday, September 23, 2008 10:55 PM

Answers

• Let me start by answering your questions in order:

1.) Exams have an expiration date set by Microsoft. These dates are normally set when updated or newer versions of technology makes the current exam objective obsolete. With that said, the certifications you mentioned will not expire (even after the required exams for those certifications retire). Once you achieve the mentioned certifications, they will not expire. The new generation certification (MCTS, MCITP. MCPD) have a retirement date. This date typically coincides with the termination of mainstream support for that technology.