WHS failure! No reinstall option! RRS feed

• General discussion

• My system disk crashed (clickity click).  Tried a reinstall which failed, bad disk.  Pulled the bad drive, put in a new one = NO reinstall option.  Sreao I spent the better part of a day pulling the drives, copying the files from the DE folders on three drives, then doing a clean install on one new drive, copying files, and then adding the drives.

WHS was supposed to make my life simpler, not more complicated. I also lost all my backups!  WHS should be able to backup its own data to another drive.  I don' think I lost any data, but who could tell, with 29,000 files.  I have 8000 photos, as I'm a photographer.  My #1 reason for buying the server was to protect my pics and it did that, but at the cost of an entire day of moving and coping files.  And I even had to come here to figure out where they actually were.

My opinion WHS = Failure

Friday, October 1, 2010 11:16 PM

All replies

• Server reinstall on a self built machine is often depending from the Bios - in which sequence, on which ports of which controllers the disks are connected, and which drivers are loaded, if the SATA controllers are not running in IDE mode. The intended systems (OEM based home servers)should do a better job here.

Besides that allow a remark: a regular manual backup of important files in shared folders is still necessary (you can use external disks and the Server backup feature in the console), since folder duplication does not protect against issues like user failure (deleting or overwriting the wrong files), malware, catastrophic incidents destroying the entire server (overvoltage, flood, fire, theft ...).