locked
Check In or not Check in? RRS feed

  • Question

  • Hi,

    I'm studying the documents management in the library of a project site, and I used the Check-out feature. Then I used the Check in feature but the system proposes a strange choice for this check in:

    ·         Retain the check out after checking in, Yes or No.

    What is the meaning of "Retain the check out" while you are doing the Check in?

    Thanks

     

     

    Sunday, March 13, 2011 12:43 PM

Answers

  • Hi,

    it does mean what it says ;-).

    As long as you are working on a checked-out document, no-one will be able to see your modifications. They will not be available to other until you do a check-in. However, it is possible that you want it still checked-out, to do some more modifications or to prevent others to change anything.

    Does that make sense?
    Barbara

    • Marked as answer by WLID1966 Sunday, March 13, 2011 1:23 PM
    Sunday, March 13, 2011 12:50 PM

All replies

  • Hi,

    it does mean what it says ;-).

    As long as you are working on a checked-out document, no-one will be able to see your modifications. They will not be available to other until you do a check-in. However, it is possible that you want it still checked-out, to do some more modifications or to prevent others to change anything.

    Does that make sense?
    Barbara

    • Marked as answer by WLID1966 Sunday, March 13, 2011 1:23 PM
    Sunday, March 13, 2011 12:50 PM
  • That's clearer now, ;-)

    Thanks

    Sunday, March 13, 2011 1:23 PM