Trouble setting up router for web access RRS feed

• Question

• Hey Gang,

First off...I'm completely new to using server software.  I have been building my own machines for about 16 years, so I'm competent on the OS side, but by no means even close to proficient with Home Server.

I just built a server with WHS 2011 and am having a problem with the router set-up wizard to turn remote access on.  It came back saying there might be two routers, which there are.  I run from the Qwest/Century Link DSL router to my Netgear WNDR 3700 which I use because it has better wireless, etc, etc.  I've checked on the Netgear, and upnp is on and port 443 is forwarded.

Any suggestions on this?

Thanks!

Wednesday, November 16, 2011 1:37 AM

All replies

• It will probably be easier to do this manually (switch off UPnP) and how you do this depends where your Server is located. If it's connected to the router closest to the Internet, route Port 443 (and optionally Port 80) to your Server IP address. If it's connected to the other one, route those ports above from the outer router to the IP address of the inner router and on the inner, route the ports to your Server IP address.

Use ShieldsUp at www.grc.com to confirm the ports are open.

Phil P.S. If you find my comment helpful or if it answers your question, please mark it as such.
    Wednesday, November 16, 2011 1:43 AM
  • Okay...still no luck.

Qwest router is 192.168.0.1

Netgear is 192.168.1.1

Server is 192.168.1.14

I forwarded both ports in the Qwest router to 192.168.1.1.  Then in Netgear router to 192.168.1.14.  Turned off upnp.  ShieldsUp showed everything came back as stealthed...if I did the test right.  I upgraded the firmware on the Qwest router, the Netgear was up to date.

I'm still getting the original "2 routers" warning.  Now I'm also getting a "upnp is disabled on your router" and "ports aren't forwarding" warnings...won't complete.

DHCP is enabled on both routers, not sure if that matters or not.

Any ideas?