none
Copy a section of a text file RRS feed

• General discussion

• Hi All,

I am new to powershell but I have a main report that contains different reports in txt format. I would like to copy the content of one of the reports within the main report until it gets to the page header of the next report.

try {

while($true){

$line = $reader.ReadLine()

$strToCheck = select-string -InputObject $line -pattern "Job Listing"

if ($strToCheck)
                   {
          $nextline = $reader.ReadLine()

$nextStrToCheck = select-string -InputObject $nextline -pattern "Source: TEST-Job: 9100"

I wrote the code above but my main issue is how to copy the content  under ""Source: TEST-Job: 9100" until it reaches the next page header that starts with "job summary" after the test above is passed.

Basically i want my script to copy all contents after "Source: TEST-Job: 9100" and stop copying when it hits the next page header "job summary"

Please advice..

• Changed type Bill_Stewart Tuesday, November 7, 2017 10:05 PM
    • Moved by Bill_Stewart Tuesday, November 7, 2017 10:06 PM This is not "keep redesigning a parsing script based on my continuouously changing list of requirements" forum
    Friday, September 22, 2017 7:15 PM

All replies

• Post a short example of the text file format you are talking about. (A short example with very few sample lines.)

-- Bill Stewart [Bill_Stewart]

Friday, September 22, 2017 7:18 PM
  •  Hi Bill, thanks for your response.. Below is just a short sample of one the reports in the main file. Basically i want the script to copy all contents below "source: Test-Job:9100" and stop when it hits "Audit of All" using "Audit of All" as a pattern.. then i'll export to a text file

Job Listing
                                                                     Source: TEST-Job: 9100

Computer Disabled on 07/30/2015 09:36:33 CN=NSCA,OU=Temp,OU=Inactive Computers,OU=macy,DC=macy,DC=int