Effective segmentation method (CRM 2011 On-Premise, hierachy of n:n) RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

I'd really appreciate your help on my first Dynamics CRM development. I'm using CRM 2011 On-Premise.

I need our CRM system to be able to effectively record the 'Business Category' of each Contact record, with the following requirements. While I understand that our business needs are quite demanding (particularly the n:n need), this cannot be unique to our business so I'm hoping that I've missed something obvious!

While I have little coding experience, I would be able to follow well documented methods and have significant IT support on hand to assist with this.

Our requirements:

• A hierarchy - in order to reduce the large list of options for users to select from, we would like to use a 'parent' and 'child' hierachy. This will only be one level deep (ie the user selects parent category 'A', is presented with 'A1, A2, A3' child categories to choose from)
    • Both the parent and child categories need to multi-select (ie the user can select parent category 'A' and 'B', and then 'A1, A3, B1, B4' child categories.
    • Ideally, it needs to be possible to record the segmentation directly when uploaded contact data via spreadsheets. I can imagine a technique to import text into hidden fields, and use bulk updates/ workflows to update the segmentation, but this doesn't feel ideal (especially as it will be me performing this function once live!)
    • To report on this segmentation I anticipate using Advanced Find, most probably as one-off Marketing Lists for each business demand.

I have attempted to use...

• subgrids of n:n relationships to custom 'Business Category' entities, but it is not possible to use the brilliant 'Related Records Filtering' option to filter the lookup when adding to the child subcategory (this is only available in 1:ns)