Get parent entity info RRS feed

• Question

• Hello All,

I am new to CRM development. My requirement is to write a custom plug-in to auto generate numbers.
    The entity structure (hierarchy) is as follows:

1. Oppurtunity

1.1 Resource Request

1.1.1 Resource Assignment

The numbering for these entities should be as follows:

Oppurtunity - Oppr0001
    Resource Request - Oppr0001 - 001
    Resource Assignment - Oppr0001 - 001 - 01

I am able to generate number for Oppurtunity. But, for resource request, I dont know how to get the value of its parent (oppurtunity) entity id i.e. Oppr0001 (in the above case).

Do we need to use any web services to get that info?

Could you please guide me?

Thanks,
    Naga
    Wednesday, December 16, 2009 7:04 PM

Answers

• You will have to retrieve the opportunity record that is associated to the resource request record. The following function will help you retrieve the record from CRM (you should also add in try and catch to the function below):

private DynamicEntity GetEntity(ICrmService crm, Guid recordid, string entityname, string[] attributes)
            {            
                    TargetRetrieveDynamic target = new TargetRetrieveDynamic();
                    target.EntityId = recordid;
                    target.EntityName = entityname;

RetrieveRequest request = new RetrieveRequest();
                    request.ColumnSet = new ColumnSet(attributes);
                    request.ReturnDynamicEntities = true;
                    request.Target = target;

RetrieveResponse response = (RetrieveResponse)crm.Execute(request);

return (DynamicEntity)response.BusinessEntity;
           }
    Shafraz

http://crmdude.wordpress.com/
    • Marked as answer by drifters85 Monday, December 21, 2009 3:17 PM
    Wednesday, December 16, 2009 7:21 PM
  • That's basically what I'm getting at.  If the child entity is established as a DynamicEntity, then you call it thusly: