none
Synchronization Error Upgrade SQL Compact 3.5 to SP1 or SP2 long column names RRS feed

• Question

• I have been working on my Synchronization project for a couple of years now. This is a large project. We created the project in Visual Studio 2008 with SQL Compact 3.5 and ADO.NET Synchronization Services 1.0.

Synchronization has been running fine until SQL Compact 3.5 SP1 was available. A few months ago we had new developers join our team. They unknowingly installed SQL Compact 3.5 SP1. They started receiveing the errors below. At the time we had them roll back to the basic 3.5 with no service pack. This resolved the error at that time.

Now that Office 2010 is being rolled out soon in our company, we have had many test pc's upgraded to Office 2010. Now when we run our sync app on these machines, we start getting the same error as we have seen before (see below). After much research on the internet I found that Office 2010 is installing Business Connectivity Services (BCS).http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ee557658.aspx With BCS being installed, I found that BCS also installs SQL Compact 3.5 SP1.

So back to Synchronization and the service pack upgrade issue... I tracked down the sync stack trace error and it is blowing up when adding table columns to a Generic.Dictionary collection.

Why is it that we see this significant change merely going to SP1 or SP2?

I believe that what is happening is that some of our column names are being cut off reducing them to a size that matches another column of the same (now cut off) name.